Meal Prep-Ground Turkey and Sweet Potato Mix//Broccoli

Hello, hello!  It’s Sunday night, and I’ve just finished my meal prepping for the week.  I’m not going to lie, I was a little iffy about this one because I’ve never really been into sweet potatoes.  I’ve always preferred regular potatoes, but for the sake of nutrition, I decided to be a little daring.

Many of my recipes I create are inspired from Pinterest, but I never follow recipes to a T.  I like putting my own spins and twists on each meal I create, and I definitely do my own thing when it comes to spices.  My boyfriend loves spicy food, I, however, am a complete wimp when it comes to spice.  But, being the amazing girlfriend I am, I always try to make each meal spicy enough for his taste (as I attempt to build up my spice tolerance) so I usually go pretty heavy.

I started out by getting all of my ingredients and prepping them as needed.  This included 2 yellow bell peppers, a sweet onion, and fresh parsley.  If you haven’t seen my About Me page, I make 10 lunch meals at a time (Monday-Friday meals split between my boyfriend and myself) so if it looks like a lot of food, it’s because it is.

lunch prep 3

I decided to use broccoli as a side dish, so I started getting it prepared and ready to go into the oven so I could save some time and just have everything going at once.  This time around, I dressed the broccoli with a pretty small amount of olive oil, minced garlic, salt, pepper, and chili powder.  I spread the veggies on an aluminum baking pan (make sure you don’t overlap) and threw them in the oven at 400 degrees for 12 minutes.  Remember when I talked about building my spice tolerance?  There’s your proof^^

lunch prep 2

After I put the broccoli in the oven, I started cooking the ground turkey for the main dish.  I cooked the turkey on medium heat by itself until it was just about done, around 5-6 minutes, and then added 2 tsps minced garlic, yellow peppers, onion, and simmered everything together for another 5 or so minutes (or until your onions start to brown).  I also added in a few spices (salt, pepper, chili powder, and crushed red pepper flakes) while everything was simmering down.  I’ll tell you what though-crushed red pepper is not my friend.

While things were cooking, I peeled and cut my sweet potatoes.  I diced them pretty small so they wouldn’t take too long to get tender.  As soon as the onions browned in the turkey mixture, I added in the potatoes and covered the pan.  It only took about 10 minutes for them to get soft, and I did add in some additional spice and a small amount of water (to prevent any sticking).  To be honest, this was my first time making sweet potatoes, but I think I did a pretty OK job.  Once everything was ready, I sprinkled some shredded mozzarella on top, let it melt, then topped it off with the fresh parsley.

lunch prep 4

Hello, delicious 🙂

Recipe:

  • 2 Yellow Peppers
  • 1 onion (I used sweet, I’m sure any would do)
  • Fresh Parsley
  • 2 lbs ground turkey
  • 5-6 sweet potatoes (depending on size)
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/3 c. Mozzarella cheese
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt, pepper, chili powder, crushed red pepper to taste*

-Heat olive oil in pan and cook ground turkey on medium heat until just about fully cooked, about 5-6 minutes.

-Add in yellow peppers, minced garlic, and onion.  Cook until onions start to brown.

-Add in spices.

-Once onions are browned, add in cubed sweet potatoes and cover pan.  May need to add water to prevent the potatoes from sticking. Cook about 10 minutes or until potatoes are soft.

-Top everything with mozzarella cheese, let melt, then add fresh parsley.

-Enjoy!

 

Recipe inspired by : http://www.primaverakitchen.com/ground-turkey-sweet-potato-skillet/ 

1 thought on “Meal Prep-Ground Turkey and Sweet Potato Mix//Broccoli”

Leave a Reply

